Philip Glass

Waiting for the Barbarians
Sep 30, 2006  -  Studio Atrium - Muziektheater, Amstel 3, Amsterdam

Philip GlassPhilip Glass is one of the late 20th century’s most influential composers and a founder of American Minimalism. His distinctive style – incorporating elements of ethnic and rock music – has been brought to bear on symphonies based on the works of David Bowie and Brian Eno. Waiting for the Barbarians premiered in September 2005 in Erfurt, Germany. J.M Coetzee is a South African novelist and winner of the 2003 Nobel Prize for literature. Waiting for the Barbarians was chosen by Penguin Books for their series ‘Great Books of the 20th Century’. The Nobel Prize committee called Waiting for the Barbarians “a political thriller in the tradition of Joseph Conrad, in which the idealist’s naivety opens the gates to horror”.


Dreamscape No. 3 from Waiting for the Barbarians:


Philip Glass’s website

Moderator: Mischa Spel

In collaboration with: Het Muziektheater, AEGON, Ministerie van OC&W, American Embassy The Hague, Van den Berch van Heemstede Fonds, Holland America Foundation